Definitely Maybe Is Still My Favourite Album

For 51 minutes and 57 seconds it was like I was a teenager again – completely free, indestructible, without a care in the world and desperate to get my hands on a tambourine that’s been in the loft for far too long.

A family man in his early thirties spending an ordinary evening at home, suddenly and unexpectedly transported back to the mid-90s and a marvelous misspent youth.

I’m sure I wasn’t the only one who felt like that as Radio One DJ Zane Lowe dedicated his show to Oasis’ debut album Definitely Maybe, playing it in full and evoking dormant magical memories.

Just for those 52 minutes it was like I didn’t have responsibilities, no mortgage to pay, no-one relying on me – transported back to a time when all I cared about was whether me and the lads had enough cash for a 20 deck of Regal and a crate of XXXX.

Definitely Maybe has always been my favourite album, a collection of songs that are the soundtrack of a generation – every track a good one, all have stood the test of time.

I love it just as much now as when I first heard Live Forever on ITV’s Chart Show, or when I sat in front of the TV mesmerised by the band’s legendary performance on The Word, when Liam swaggered his way through Supersonic.

The quality of the music was the main pull, but I remember being seduced by that on-stage attitude – Liam in particular just didn’t seem to give a toss, doing what he liked when he liked, no rules, no-one telling him what to do – every teenage boys dream.

Tambourine in hand, snarling the lyrics – arrogant and rebellious, but loved for it – so many times I’ve wondered what that must be like.

These were working class lads living the dream – elevated to superstardom by a truly stunning debut album that evoked memories of the Beatles for some, but for those of us way too young for that it signaled the start of an exciting new era of music.

Anthemic songs that we could call our own, this was our generation writing it’s own soundtrack, not relying on rehashed ballads from a by-gone era – right from the moment it filled the shelves of Our Price for the first time Definitely Maybe was always going to be an album that would stand the test of time.

Who’d have thought that all these years late there’d be a whole new generation of kids, known as ‘neets’ now, who can relate to the lyric – ‘Is it worth the aggravation to find yourself a job when there’s nothing worth working for?’

Often in those mid-nineties I remember looking through my own teenage haze into the future, wondering whether I’d ever be Married With Children and whether the lyrics would make sense then.

I’m there now and I can see where the Gallaghers were coming from, but thankfully she’s not into shitty music, isn’t sarcastic and doesn’t think everything she’s done is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

